A few contested races in local elections

The filing period for local school board, mayor and city council positions ended on August 16. Some of the local races will be contested this year while others have incumbents running unopposed.

In the City of Morris, Mayor Sheldon Giese will not be running for re-election. Filing for the position of Mayor are Kim Gullickson, Kevin Wohlers and Zachary Kroells. In the race for city council, incumbents Jeff Miller and Brian Solvie have filed along with Autumn Johnson.

All of the positions in the Hancock City Council have only the incumbents filing. These include for Mayor with Bruce Malo filing for re-election. Incumbents Jeff Flaten and Jeff Kisgen have filed for the city council seats. 

The Morris School Board will have three seats up for election with three people filing. However, current school board member Doug Stahman will not seek re-election. The three filing are Mike Odello, Renee Konz and Matt Johnson.

In the Hancock School Board election there have been five candidates filing for three seats. Board chairman Tim Schaefer did not file for re-election. The candidates will include Brett Duncan, John Boon, Ashley Francous, Kevin Joos and Bridget Joos.

At the county level, most candidates will be running unopposed except for the District 5 County Commissioner office. Neil Wiese is the incumbent District 5 Commissioner and he will be challenged by Patricia Lesmeister Nelson for the seat. The other positions up for election are Bob Kopitzke County District 1 Commissioner, Jeanne Ennen County District 2 Commissioner, Stephanie Buss County Auditor/Treasurer, Nicole Mahoney County Recorder, Jason Dingman County Sheriff and Aaron Jordan County Attorney. On the Soil and Water Supervisor board Greg Fynboh has filed for District 2 and Debbie Anderson for District 3.