April 12, 2021

Stevens County Times

Your spot for community news in Stevens County, Minnesota

Brewers open season 2-0


Brian Giese / Brewers Team Manager

The Morris Brewers senior amateur baseball team was established by Blake Baron a couple years ago and is essentially the replacement of the Morris Legends team that existed years ago.  We play in the Northwest League of the MN Senior Amateur Baseball Association.  I am now managing the team as Blake moved away to Texas.

This year’s season is kind of getting pieced together as we go due to COVID-19, but we have gotten two games in thus far.  We played the Fergus Falls Blue Dogs at home on June 21 and won 5-3.  We played the Clarissa Cubs in Clarissa on June 28 and won 4-3 in 10 innings.  Mike Kill was the winning pitcher of record for both games.  The starting pitchers were Curt Schake and Matt Carrington.  Eric Rice was the MVP of our 10 inning game in Clarissa pitching 3 scoreless innings and driving in all 4 of our runs.  Our next game (final scheduled home game) is Saturday, July 11 is against the Kensington Outlaws at Chizek Field starting at 7:00 p.m.  After the 11, our next scheduled games aren’t until August.  On Aug. 2 we have a double header in Alexandria at 2 p.m. and 4 p.m. and on Aug. 9 a double header in Becker at 2 p.m. and 4 p.m. 

State Tournament Play takes place over the weekends of Aug. 15-16 and Aug. 22-23. 

We are currently working on building interest in the team.  We can roster up to 30 people and currently have 24 people on the roster.  At this age a lot of the rostered players are also busy with their kids activities and are not able to make it to games consistently, so we try to keep a large roster in order to get enough players for each game.  If anyone is interested in playing, they are encouraged to reach out to me as we welcome anybody who is eligible and interested in playing some baseball.

In alphabetical order, our current roster includes: Mike Adelman, Mark Anderson, Eric Asche, Jarrod Asmus, Chris Athey, Mark Berlinger, Kevin Beyer, Jason Breuer, Matt Carrington, Joel Ekberg, Brian Giese, Chris Jergenson, Mike Kill, Randy Larson, Brandon Lennox, John Mahoney, Scott Mattocks, Seth Miller, Rob Nigg, Eric Rice, Dave Rohloff, Curt Schake, and Jamie VanKempen.